Pottermore

I’m aware Pottermore was released quite sometime ago and the hype has very much died down, but I’d like to give some reasons as to why it has faded into obscurity.

Everyone has their complaints about Pottermore. There was so much wait for it. I remember getting into the beta thinking I was going to be really cool because I was going to experience a true-to-life Hogwarts before any of my friends. But there was SO much waiting involved. They tried to explain it away saying that it was because they didn’t want to overload the site, but still. It was horrible.

Then, once I got into the site, it was a lot of fun. I was sorted in to Ravenclaw and I got a wand which I can’t for the life of me remember what it was. But I was satisfied with the site. I explored for a few hours and at the end of those few hours, I had exhausted everything that the site could offer me until the next book came out. So, I set to racking up points for Ravenclaw by dueling. But, if you don’t have a good internet connection, or your computer is slow, you’re out of luck and your scores are low.

But that’s all the bad I can say about Pottermore. They just need more content. More fun content. Something that keeps us engaged.

My favorite part of the site is J.K.’s extras about each of the books and I think that’s what this site was made for. It wasn’t for games or anything like that. It was meant to let readers explore more into the Harry Potter universe. In that context, it works really well. It’s kind of an info-dump and it’s great. All the fan-fiction writers now have a leaping off point for their head canons.

So, yes, I do like Pottermore. I don’t like it for all the reasons other people don’t like it, but I think it serves its purpose. It keeps us engaged with one of the stories that got a lot of us into reading and I think that’s pretty special. But I would like to get some of the chapters earlier.

photo credit: Publishing Technologies

3 thoughts on “Pottermore

Leave a Reply

