Tearaway: Review

imagesWhen I first bought this game, it took me a month to put it into my Playstation Vita. I just didn’t have the time for it, though I had heard only good things about the game and I desperately wanted to play. It was only about a week ago that I finally did the deed and boy, am I glad I did.

You are a face in the sun called the You. Using every feature of your Vita, you control a messenger named Atoi that has an envelope for a head. You can decorate him with stickers and construction paper cut outs. As you progress through the game, you collect presents and papercraft plans that you can print out and make to bring Atoi’s world into your own (which I thought was really clever).

This game reminds me of everything I used to love about games growing up. I used to play collectathons like Spyro and Banjo Kazooie a lot and I loved the aspect of exploration. I wanted to find every hidden item that I could. Tearaway takes that formula and improves upon it. You collect confetti as you move through the story which you can then exchange for decorations for your character. These decorations can also be put on other in-game characters as parts of missions that earn you more confetti.

Early on, a squirrel gives you a camera. With it, you are expected to take pictures of all the things with no color, thus giving them color and bringing them to life. One of my favorite levels has you running with the camera in your hands so that you can take one of these pictures while being chased by a beast.

Bottomline, if you have a Playstation Vita and you haven’t bought this game, I completely suggest that you pick this up. It’s one of the best games on the system for a good reason. Plus, Atoi is just adorable. Do it for Atoi!

——-

Photo Credit: Gynga

4 thoughts on “Tearaway: Review

  1. This game is the only thing that could tempt me to purchase a Vita. If, you know I wasn’t constrained by pesky austerity.
    Also I appreciate the follow of my blog, but if you could follow the blog below instead as I no longer use the one you followed, and have no idea how to change the link on my profile. I will of course follow back.
    https://gamecomplainrepeat.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

